

28 August – 3 September 2016, Mainz (Germany)

### **First Circular**

The 23rd "Euroschool on Exotic Beams" will be held in Mainz, Germany, from 28th August to 3rd September 2016. The web-site of the School can be found at <a href="http://www.euroschoolonextoicbeams.be">http://www.euroschoolonextoicbeams.be</a> where a link to an online registration form is available. The registration is open. The deadline for registration is 15th May 2016. Please indicate whether you need an invitation letter for visa application; please note that visa applications presently take up to three months. The e-mail adress of the Euroschool is euroschool@kuleuven.be.

The school is intended for PhD students and young post-docs starting to work in the field of radioactive ion beams. It consists of several lecture courses given by specialists in the field, starting from a basic level. The Euroschool is an annual event, initially funded by the EU and now supported by several large research facilities in Europe. The school started off at Leuven, Belgium, in 1993; since 2000 it has travelled around and was organized in various European cities. Every year the Euroschool on Exotic Beams attracts about 60-80 students from all over the world. This year it is organized by GSI/FAIR and takes place in the picturesque and lively city of Mainz, located at the scenic part of the Rhine river.

The production and use of energetic radioactive beams is a rapidly developing new field in nuclear physics, especially in Europe. Pioneering experiments have taken place, dedicated research is going on, and several new facilities are under construction. Many workshops and conferences have been devoted to this field and experienced researchers have ample opportunities to be informed on the latest developments. The summer schools on exotic beams have been devised so that Ph.D. students and young post-docs are introduced to this new area and receive basic and detailed information.

A fee of 200 Euros will be charged, which covers the registration, accomodation, and meals, excursion, welcome reception and the school's dinner. The application deadline is 15th May 2016. All applications must be submitted via the form on our web page.

# **Lecturers and topics:**

Calin Ur Nuclear physics with gamma beams

(IFIN-HH/ELI-NP, Romania)

Alexandre Obertelli Nuclear structure studied with reactions and spectroscopy

(CEA Saclay, France)

Isao Tanihata Nuclei at the dripline: halos, unbound states and other exotica

(RCNP Osaka, Japan)

Markus Kortelainen Mean field theory

(Univ. Jyväskylä, Finland)

Raquel Crespo Nuclear reaction theory

(Univ. Lisbon, Portugal)

Peter Dendooven Nuclear physics techniques for medical applications and imaging

(KVI-CART, The Netherlands)

Markku Oinonen Dating methods and recent results

(Univ. Helsinki, Finland)

A poster session will be included in the program.

### **Laboratory visit:**

A one-day visit to GSI in Darmstadt is planned. The visit will comprise a guided tour to the accelerator, storage ring, and experimental facilities, and several special lectures on tumor therapy with relativistic carbon beams, superheavy element research, and an introduction to new scientific opportunities at the International Accelerator Facility for Research with Ions and Antiprotons, FAIR.

#### Important dates:

15th May: Application deadline

25th May: Participants will be informed about acceptance

5th August 2016: Final circular

25th August 2016: Arrival at Mainz and start of Euroschool

3rd September 2016: Departure from Mainz

### **Board of Directors of the Euroschool:**

Dolores Cortina-Gil, Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain

Héloïse Goutte, CEA DSM, Saclay, France
Sotirios Harissopulos, NCSR "Demokritos", Athens, Greece
Ari Jokinen, University of Jyväskylä, Finland
Silvia M. Lenzi, University of Padova and INFN, Italy
Gerda Neyens, KU Leuven, Belgium
Marek Pfützner, University of Warsaw, Poland
Andrey Popeko, JINR, Dubna, Russia
Christoph Scheidenberger, GSI, Darmstadt, Germany (Chair)
Fabienne Vanalphen, KU Leuven, Belgium (Secretary)

Dario Vretenar, University of Zagreb, Croatia

## **Local Organizing Committee:**

Soumya Bagchi, Alexander Herlert, Christine Hornung, Ivan Miskun, Daniela Press, Ann-Kathrin Rink, Christoph Scheidenberger, Luise Doersching-Steitz