First Announcement The Exotic Beam Summer School 2016 (EBSS2016) July 17 - July 24, 2016 at NSCL/MSU

The 2016 Exotic Beam Summer School (EBSS) will be held at the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory (NSCL), Michigan State University (MSU), from Sunday July 17 through Sunday July 24, 2016. Please pass on this announcement to interested students and young researchers. As in previous years, the number of attendees will be limited to around forty participants who will be selected from the pool of applicants. The school is intended for graduate students, but senior undergraduates and junior postdoctoral researchers will also be considered.

This will be the fifteenth in the series of annual summer schools devoted to the exciting developments in the study of exotic nuclei. The school is jointly organized by ANL, LBNL, LLNL, MSU, ORNL and ARUNA. Development of the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB) continues apace and FRIB, along with other existing and planned exotic beam facilities around the world, will present wonderful opportunities for future discoveries and technical innovations. The school is intended to introduce students and young researchers to the various facets of the science of exotic nuclei including nuclear structure, nuclear astrophysics, fundamental interactions, and the application of nuclear science and technology in the modern world.

The format of the school is unique: in the mornings, students will receive lectures from leading researchers in the various fields of nuclear physics. In the afternoons, there will be hands-on activities, geared towards introducing fundamental techniques and methods in the production, detection, and investigation of exotic nuclei. The National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory will provide an excellent opportunity for hands-on experience to the school participants.

More details will be available at <u>http://people.nscl.msu.edu/~iwasaki/ebss2016.html</u> The call for applications will be made soon.

With regards from the EBSS Board of Directors,

- R. Clark (LBNL)
- H. Iwasaki (NSCL/MSU) local organizer of EBSS2016 at NSCL/MSU
- K. Rykaczewski (ORNL)
- D. Seweryniak (ANL)
- M. Stoyer (LLNL)
- I. Wiedenhoever (FSU/ARUNA)